NZ Teachers Council

We had a really interesting staff meeting today where James outlined the place of the new Professional Standards being designed currently by the Teachers Council. It is their intention to simplify these - changing from 12 PTC's to 6. We now have 4 Code Principles. These set out the principles of the Code grouped under the four commitment statements: Commitment to the Teaching Profession; Commitment to Learners; Commitment to Parents/Caregivers and Families/ Whānau; and Commitment to Society. The standards are National Context, Professional Learning, Professional Relationships & Behaviours, Learning Focused Environments, Design for Learning and Teaching. I am most excited by an indicator in the Teaching section where it states: "Enable learners to collaborate and self-regulate their learning and develop agency." See the following slideshow for further information:


Popular posts from this blog

Understanding Behaviour: Responding Safely

Play Based Learning

Exemplary School Visit